Starting at the end of July 2019, NJ homeowners are now entitled to two sheriff sale adjournments of up to 30 days for $28. Read on for more details about this new law.
At the End of July 2019, NJ Sheriff Sale Adjournments Changed
In April 2019, Governor Phil Murphy signed a package of bills into law addressing several aspects of the New Jersey foreclosure process. One of these new bills, NJ S3464, introduces several changes to current laws in an effort to speed up NJ foreclosure proceedings. One of these changes is an amendment to N.J.S.2A:17-36, the statute that governs sheriff sale adjournments. These changes went into effect at the end of July 2019.
What Changes Have Been Made to New Jersey Sheriff Sale Adjournments?
Under the old law, NJ homeowners facing a sheriff sale had the right to two (2) adjournments of two weeks (14 days) each, for a total of 28 days.
With the new laws now in effect as of July 2019, homeowners are entitled to two (2) adjournments of up to 30 days (likely 28 days in practice) for a fee of $28. In addition, county sheriffs will now be required to conduct the sale within 150 days of the receipt of a Writ of Execution.
Additionally, the Lender is entitled to two (2) adjournments and a fifth (5th) adjournment can be used if the home owner and lender both agree.
I Have Questions About the New Adjournment Law. Who Should I Call?
It is important to remember that each county will have different rules regarding these new changes. If you are facing foreclosure on your home and have questions about how the new 2019 NJ foreclosure laws will affect you, call your county’s sheriff:
- Atlantic County (609-909-7200)
- Bergen County (201-336-3500)
- Burlington County (609-265-5127)
- Camden County (856-225-5475)
- Cape May County (609-463-6420)
- Cumberland County (609-463-6420)
- Essex County (973-621-4111)
- Gloucester County (856-384-4600)
- Hudson County (201-369-4330)
- Hunterdon County (908-788-1166)
- Mercer County (609-989-6111)
- Middlesex County (732-745-3366)
- Monmouth County (732-431-6400)
- Morris County (973-285-6600)
- Ocean County (732-929-2044)
- Passaic County (973-881-4200)
- Salem County (856-935-7510)
- Somerset County (908-231-7140)
- Sussex County (973-579-0850)
- Union County (908-527-4450)
- Warren County (908-475-6309)
If you are facing a sheriff sale in New Jersey, contact the Law Office of Ira J. Metrick to discuss your options. We can determine if you are eligible for a loan modification, and give you an estimate of what the payment terms would be.